The dead live!!!

March 6, 2008

I don’t want to dwell upon the fact that TS has been sitting in a ditch for a year or almost that much– because I’ve known all along guiltily that I should do something about it. Let’s be honest here though fellows: the past nine or so months have been a serious revelation to me; I’ve had to rethink my entire business, wonder where I’m going, and start making plans. And in retrospect it was a little presumptuous to post this blog with three years of experience– not that I regret doing so!  But it’s been hard to keep up with and feel like I’m capable of delivering.

So to the scant few that will see this, I want to apologize for letting this blog die. I was inspired last night to dust off the ol’ girl and take a keen look at her. Why? Well, last night I met up with fellow illustrators in Phoenix, under the guise of a meetup group called Tiny Army. (and spearheaded by the awesome Daniel of Steam Crow Press– check his site for handy info!) While it was just our inaugural meeting, I found myself feeling pretty energized and loving illustration again. (Not unlike what happened at APE last year) And as a result the positive vibes and sharing of information led me to want to bust this thing out of its prison.

A bit of a revamp is in order though; I’m going to level with you, I’m no expert. Providing tips only will only get me so far; so I’m going to take this on more of a personal level and document what I’m going through, and hopefully still provide advice and discuss important things as well, and share. Sharing is big, folks– so I hope I can keep doing so. And this is a work in progress, just like my career is, just like we all are– so please offer me suggestions, tell me what you like to hear and what you don’t, and share with me. Maybe in the future this can grow to be a group advice blog, but for right now it’s all on me, so I’ll try and give my point of view and my experiences and hope you’ll all find something worthwhile in it. Baby steps for now.

Thanks everybody!

– meg
http://www.meghunt.com

7 Responses to “The dead live!!!”

  1. yay! I am glad to see you back on this blog. I love your work and can’t wait to see what you do with this blog.

    -Blake

  2. DH. said

    BZZZTTTTT!!!!! And an entire 120 volts of electricity course through the server, bringing the site back to life!

    Yay! I look forward to more words from the trenches! Let us all know how we can help out!

  3. Bjorn said

    You don’t have to be an experts with years and years of experience in the field. Illustration is hot, making images is hot. Lot’s of people are being confronted with the business-side of illustration (and image making in general) because the work they make is going to be used in a commercial enviroment. Think of amateurs and fresh out of school illustrators.

    Some weeks ago a wrote a big piece about creative content and why this matters to potentiel clients. And why it is neccesary to get paid for this. I haven’t done anything with it up to this date. So if you want to post it here, feel free to contact me.

    Glad you’re back!

  4. Gina said

    Hooray! It’s great to see new posts on this blog. I think what makes your blog unique is your perspective – you’re successful (and rightly so!) but still in the early stages of a career, and also willing to honestly share some of those challenges.

  5. Bruce said

    Alright! I’m glad to see you back and this blog up and running. I have to agree with what Gina said in the previous post about your perspective being unique. I find it refreshing actually and reading this blog last year really gave me the confidence (among other things) to make that leap from my old much hated job to the world of freelance illustration. There’s so much to learn.

    Glad you’re back, though. I enjoy coming here.

  6. Great to see this blog up and running again. I would check ever month or so to see if it would ever come back again. I definitely think you should have a trusted colleague help you out with the post load… Or at least have some guest writers every now and then to keep the stress off you.

  7. I would like to hear mid way of life… confusion, strength, success path etc. If I more clear my thinking, it is about how we can grow mature like a tree?

Leave a Reply

